Forever a Bookworm

by Meygen D. Cruz

“He had always thought that books are the ultimate Dumpees: you put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”Colin Singleton, An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

I never imagined my love for books would grow as much as it has. Sure, my initial love was reading  storybooks for children. Then I had this weird hobby of drawing comic book versions of Barbie movies using glitter pens. However, my fondness for storybooks and drawing started fading when I read the first chapter of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, which I did only out of the curiosity many eight-year-olds possess. I ended up bored and frustrated, not understanding most of what I have read within the hour. I really thought that would be the end of it for me, but I was so wrong.

A picture of my Nancy Drew collection. I have 47 of the original 64 paperbacks, not counting a few of the comics and special editions.
A picture of my Nancy Drew collection. I have 47 of the original 64 paperbacks, not counting a few of the comics and special editions.

Looking back nearly seven years later, I realized that it wasn’t really wise to start reading the last book of a series. It only took a few months to get me interested again, this time in Nancy Drew and her novels. All it took was my mom telling me about reading Nancy Drew novels as an elementary student, and the next thing I remember, I was picking out the first book of my would-be collection, The Secret of Mirror Bay. I got to read Harry Potter again soon enough, and I begun with the first book this time. Like most, I loved the adventures of the boy who lived, his redhead best mate, and the smartest witch of their age. From that point on, I started reading almost everything—from Percy Jackson and the Olympians to stand-alone books under the young adult category like All the Bright Places, or the ever-girly Princess Diaries, or even the supernatural Mara Dyer trilogy.

Some of the books in my collection, namely (from left to right, top to bottom): The Secret Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot; City of Bones by Cassandra Clare; Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins; The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart; Falling into Place by Amy Zhang; I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore; Baked to Death by Dean James; The Giver by Lois Lowry; The House of Hades by Rick Riordan; and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling.
Some of the books in my collection, namely (from left to right, top to bottom): The Secret Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot; City of Bones by Cassandra Clare; Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins; The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart; Falling into Place by Amy Zhang; I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore; Baked to Death by Dean James; The Giver by Lois Lowry; The House of Hades by Rick Riordan; and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling.

Now, it is difficult to imagine life without books anymore. Books just seem to understand. They give me an odd sort of peace. I read to de-stress, distracting myself in the characters’ world to tune out my own. In turn, books let me join unique and refreshing adventures without leaving the comfort of my house. They are like friends who never criticize or judge. Instead, books let you step into another person’s point of view to show that they get you. Many contain at least one situation you could relate to—like how not all friends are good friends, or how society can be so prejudiced, or how the norm isn’t always right, or how people are made stronger by the troubles they faces and so on. They make you feel special by accepting you for all flaws—no questions asked. In that regard, I think there is a book for everybody, one that he or she can relate to almost completely. I think I found mine in An Abundance of Katherines. Colin, the main character, and I share the same worries, which is not mattering, and he got over it. This similarity gives me hope.

Books are forever. They are little worlds that you can always go back to. They are reliable and unchanging, and, indeed, they have changed me forever. I will always have my love for books, no matter what.

Books don’t bite (unless you’re talking about the Monstrous Book of Monsters in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban). If you find yourself bored out of your mind reading, then you have definitely not found the right book. Don’t give up. Keep looking. It’s out there somewhere.

the author

Meygen D. Cruz

Meygen D. Cruz, 14 years old, is a graduate of Manila Science High School and an incoming freshman student at De La Salle University. Books are her safe haven. She enjoys writing, programming, and spending time on Facebook and with her little brother.

the author2

Other Forever stories written by:

Hermie V. Salita Merong Forever Dara SanchezForever

Other trending news, stories, and topics as they happen!

advocates and program    education and technologies2   fashion and style   pageant and beauties

politics and governance   showbiz and entertainment2   travels and adventures   trending2

Leave a Reply

